OPI – I’m Not Really A Waitress and Lucerne-Tainly Look Marvelous

by franklyscarletnails

I’m still unsure as to whether I’d call these “lucky nails” as the two-toned/accent ring finger mani has been rocking around the Mayan clock for years, but OPI like to coin neologisms for already existing trends (“shatter” is to crackle as “sorbet” is to jelly) and I figure it’s merely a marketing ploy. Eyebrow-raising aside, this look is inspired by what Kaley Cuoco wore next at the People’s Choice Awards last week. Kaley’s nails were styled by an OPI celebrity manicurist and the shades used were OPI’s Bastille My Heart and Nicole by OPI’s Follow Me On Glitter. Having none of these polishes on hand (Pun! Derp), I decided to take two of my OPIs out of hibernation and I absolutely adore the outcome.

Here I have two coats each of OPI’s I’m Not Really A Waitress and Lucerne-Tainly Look Marvelous (ring finger). For reference, I have one coat each of Orly Bonder Base Coat and Dare To Ware Top Coat.

Released in 1999 as part of the Hollywood collection and now a Classics staple, I’m Not Really A Waitress is OPI’s #1 bestseller and continues to receive accolades in beauty magazines – and it’s darn easy to see why! Having a predilection for wearing red as mentioned previously here, this glamorous garnet is slightly more blue-based than orange-based but it does suit my warm skin-tone and actually makes my skin look fairer, so to hell with the rules, errbody get on top of this! I’m Not Really A Waitress is an alluring berry red with subtle red shimmer that gives off an almost-metallic finish. The amusing name pays tribute to all the budding wannabes who would leave home and flock to Tinseltown in search of their big break while serving burgers and apple pie on the side because a girl’s gotta eat, explaining to anyone who’d listen: “I’m not really a waitress, y’know!” Coincidentally, this is the very same role of cute waitress/struggling actress that Kaley plays in The Big Bang Theory. Howzat for some irony, OPI! Please hire me as a celebrity manicurist, I’ve a feeling OPI’s Oh…To Be 25 Again! will suit Joan Van Ark better than her actually-terrifying face does.

Lucerne-Tainly Look Marvelous is from the 2010 Swiss collection for Fall. A blue-toned gunmetal foil with fine silver glitter, the bottle looks like a thousand graphite pencils were crushed with a pestle to create this gorgeous deep charcoal shade. It glides on very smoothly without leaving a gritty finish and glimmers constantly in the sun. Sophisticated and chic, I imagine this shade will really pop as a manicure against an oversized fluffy white knit cardigan worn in winter. One day, I’ll make it to Lucerne and I’ll bring this bottle of carbonite with me!

These two OPIs are easy to manage, both in the formula and the application. I could wear this particular two-toned manicure all year round; in fact I’d say it is A Mani For All Seasons ;) I love the edgy vixen feel of this combination; it’s just that little less precious, and a little more provocative… xd

