butter LONDON – The Old Bill and West End Wonderland

by franklyscarletnails

I may be new to blogging as I am to butter LONDON, but I certainly appreciate quality and the few bL bottles I have are already fast friends of mine as I regard them fondly and familiarly as though they were my own children. In short, my brain short circuits every time I see/touch/use them (I stop short at smell). This is definitely owing to the 3-Free formula, I-can’t-believe-it’s-not-butter-can-you? application and punchy lacquer names (how can anyone not chuckle at No More Waity, Katie – the long-anticipated, tongue-in-cheek LE polish that they released in commemoration of the Royal Wedding which was equally as, if not more, long-anticipated). I’m ringing in the heatwave of this Christmas with a tinsel-fest on my nails – Observe! One coat of West End Wonderland over two coats of The Old Bill (click on the link for a swatch comparison), both of which are staples in the bL collection. For reference, I have one coat each of Orly Bonder Base Coat and Dare to Wear Top Coat.

The Old Bill is a rustic copper metallic that is surprisingly streak-free (!) given its finish and the age-old stigma surrounding metallic polishes. Drying time is fast and one coat will do the trick, but I tend to do two out of habit. I imagine warm Old Bill will flatter all skin tones, especially those of us with golden undertones.

West End Wonderland demands attention like a pair of Miu Miu glitter pumps worn in the lunch-time waiting line at the bank on a Monday (inset: Zooey Deschanel’s pins sporting said shoes from the Fall/Winter 2011 collection. Does that woman ever put a wrong foot forward? I mean, really! I DIE). It is densely packed full of pale yellow gold and orange-copper glitter and I love it in all its sparkly, sequin-y, glittersexual goodness. After gleefully experimenting on my swatch wheels, I found that two coats will get you full coverage, but one coat is more than capable of holding its own.

I’ve only ever seen butter LONDON twice in Australia – at Sydney’s Star City Hotel lobby and a boutique clothing store in Sassafras, retailing at $20+ AUD. I purchased these online at Perth-based e-shop honeyhoney for $19.80 AUD each, with free shipping for orders over $50 within Australia.

Expensive, yes, but that’s what we get for living in the middle of the nowhere girt by sea; and besides, it’s always fun to treat your nubbins!

Won’t you all have yourself a very Merry Christmas! xd

